Some accidents are avoidable. They happen because someone was reckless or careless. This is negligence. If you sustain injuries because of negligence, it can have serious consequences for you. For one, you can file a claim against the one responsible.
Each state has its own set of personal injury laws. A personal injury law firm in Kent can help you if your injuries happen in the Washington State. Here are some basics of state laws on personal injury claims.
You’ll not have a lot of time to file a personal injury claim due to the statute of limitations. You need to file a personal injury claim in Washington within three years after you get an injury. If you don’t, you’re out of luck. You’ll have to suffer the consequences on your own.
There are different ways to assign fault. Washington laws use something called pure comparative negligence. This means the court might find you partly at fault for your injury. If you’re partly to blame, this will affect how much you can get from your claim. If the court awards $100,000 to you for an accident, for example, but you’re 10% at fault, you’ll only get $90,000. If the court finds you’re 90% at fault in the same accident, you’ll only get $10,000.
You can only get compensation in a personal injury claim if you can prove the other party was at fault in some way. If you can do that, you can claim damages for your medical expenses, loss of income, property damage, and anything other cost resulting from the event. However, it’s not always easy to prove fault. If you want your claim to succeed, you need an experienced personal injury lawyer by your side.
You need to know these basic laws for personal injury claims so that you can get the compensation you deserve.